Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

ctjack

macrumors 65816
Original poster
Mar 8, 2020
Hello dear comrades! Hope you are doing well.

It was late evening and i had some spare time to do this chart. I have done it for us, because i am also struggling between an Air 2020 or MBP 13 2020. So i wanted to share results with you.
I have read a lot of reviews and at some point lost the track how data correlates between different models. So intended to write it down for easy reference.
I am a finance grad student, so always looking for "price/gain" ratio for my purchases. Just really hate buying things, which doesn't meet my expectations for money invested. That is why i am always checking back reviews on websites and sitting on this forum.

Below is the chart of MBP 13 2012 Retina (my Mac), MBP 2019/2020 base, MBP Air i3, i5, i7. And MBP 16 along with desktop CPU Ryzen 3700x is just for reference. It is also worth to mention that Ryzen 9 CPUs for laptops this year are equal in performance to the desktop Ryzen 3700x.

So the whole point of this chart was simple - to test only CPU alone without an influence of other factors such as RAM size and speed, GPU and etc. Also scores only for Mac OS, since we know that Apple is really good at optimizing hardware. I intended to know, how much I will gain if I replace my old Retina 2012 MBP 13”. Because I don’t want to spend money, if the new laptop AIR or MBP is not that much better than my 7-year-old Mac.

Disclaimer: Web is full of different scores and that really fluctuates. I tried to include the scores, which are almost identical across the web with deviation 2-5%. For GPU I use export video examples just for harsh reference point. GPU performance is not the same while gaming and video editing, so those conclusions can not be translated to gaming experience. Overall, gaming is not main priority of this dGPU-less 13 inch laptops.