Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

AnimaLeo

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Sep 2, 2009
Hello everyone. I have been doing photography for seven months now and I just wanted an idea of some of the things I'm doing wrong so I can improve.

All the photos are taken with my Nikon D40 with the kit lens (18-55 mm).

6294_141024995971_539595971_3290066_2039078_n.jpg

8419_152647055971_539595971_3451743_1271003_n.jpg

10966_237677650971_539595971_4159680_4411771_n.jpg

14433_200046035971_539595971_3926462_6667040_n.jpg

13348_190131275971_539595971_3830336_1413842_n.jpg

somewhatvaguely

macrumors member
May 20, 2009
Ontario
Hey there! I hope I can critique this well, if not, well forgive me. I'll first address what I don't like about each photo, then what I like.

The first:
The frog isn't contrasted enough. The dark green really blends in with the dark ground and at first glance there doesn't seem to be a main focus. Maybe run that through photoshop(it seems you already have, though I may be mistaken) and boost the greens through image adjustments. Also, the angle/placement of the photo is a bit... uncreative, I suppose. It's a side profile, sorta angled upwards, smack center. And the perspective of it is kind of weird too. It's midway between bird's eye view and ground level, and that's... really confusing to me as a viewer. The frog, also, is not an interesting subject the way you captured this photo. It's just... resting, I guess. I would've hoped it way midway in action, say about to jump or something more.. exciting. You know? :)

I really like the colors of it(mostly the ground). The blues and the orange-y hues play together nicely with contrast, but like I said, the frog which is supposed to be the focus, I assume, is definitely not. Also, I like the macro detail, you can see the eye and bumps on the skin... it's pretty cool.