Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

j.tan

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jul 29, 2024
I’m new to AppleScript, and have been writing a script to prepend the current date to an existing file or folder name. The script appears to work well, except for a very specific instance. When using the script to rename a single text file (i.e. a file with the ‘.txt’ extension) on Mac OS Sonoma 14.5, Finder hangs with spinning beachball, requiring a relaunch. The file in question remains unchanged i.e. the script does not completely execute.

Running the script does not trigger the same issue under these conditions:
  • Using more than one .txt file i.e. it works fine when two or more .txt files are selected in Finder.
  • Using multiple files or a mix of files and folders, with a single .txt file in the selection.
  • Using files of types other than .txt (e.g. .jpg, .pdf, .workflow, etc.), single or otherwise.
  • On a folder with ‘.txt’ added to the end of the folder name.
  • On a file of a different type e.g. .jpg that has had its extension changed to .txt (with corresponding warning from Finder about changing file extensions).
  • On Mac OS Ventura 13.6.7 i.e. no problem at all, even with single .txt files. I haven’t tested on other versions of Mac OS.
Here is a simplified bit of code (minus date handling, date formatting, etc.) that replicates the issue on my side:

AppleScript:
activate application "Finder"

set prependText to "xyz "

tell application "Finder"
    set theSelection to the selection
    repeat with anItem in theSelection
        set currentName to name of anItem
        set newName to prependText & currentName
        set name of anItem to newName
    end repeat
end tell

Are any of you able to replicate the problem? Any idea what’s going on?

arw

macrumors 65816
Aug 31, 2010
Works for me on macOS Sonoma 14.5 (Apple Silicon).
test.txt > xyz test.txt