Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

SOLLERBOY

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Aug 8, 2008
UK
Hi guys, I'm relatively new to photography but I am in the middle of a college coursework project and i'm finding the D40 18-55 stock to be a bit limiting. I will be using the lens mostly for night photography with long exposures. I also need something I can take with me to New York in February and on my various trips.

I was looking at the 18-200vr but have heard it's not the sharpest of lenses.
I also saw the 70-300 but I don't think it's what I need right now.
I also know there is a 55-200 but I heard (amazon reviews) that it's not very good.

Can someone who has experience or knows about any of these lenses ( or any others) give me some advice please? Thanks.:)

SOLLERBOY

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Aug 8, 2008
UK
like I say, I'm new when it comes to this. Basically I need something With a high zoom that works well for night photography. Thanks.

Jan 30, 2006
like I say, I'm new when it comes to this. Basically I need something With a high zoom that works well for night photography. Thanks.

The truth is that none of those lenses are the best option for night photography. They are slow. If you are going to be using a tripod, then maybe you can get one of those and compensate the small aperture with a long exposure.

If this is the case, then I'll suggest the 70-300. The 18-200 is also a good lens, specially for trips, but the 70-300 AF-S has quite better image quality in the 70-200 range than the 18-200.

What is your budget? And also, what is that you find limiting of the 18-55? Too short? Slow?

SOLLERBOY

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Aug 8, 2008
UK
The truth is that none of those lenses are the best option for night photography. They are slow. If you are going to be using a tripod, then maybe you can get one of those and compensate the small aperture with a long exposure.