Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

HomeingPigeon

macrumors regular
Original poster
Aug 1, 2007
My birthday is coming up on April 1. I would love to get a speedlight or some sort of off camera flash. I have no experience with off camera flashes. I have a nikon D40. I found a SB-400 AF speedlight on amazon for 129.00. Is that a good deal? I also found a SB-600 speedlight flash on amazon for about 190.00. Is that worth the extra money? What am I looking for in a flash? Can these flashes also do a strobe effect?

Abstract

macrumors Penryn
Dec 27, 2002
Location Location Location
In my opinion, the SB600 is the better flash, and the SB400 is the one I'd probably use more often. I don't know what's more important for you. If you're quite a casual shooter who isn't trying anything too crazy, I think the SB400 should be fine.

I guess if you KNOW you won't mind carrying the SB-600 around, then buy it. If you know you won't bring it with you as often as you should, then the SB400 is perfect. The weight of either flash isn't much of an issue. They're both lightweight. However, the SB400 is far smaller (physically), and that may make all the difference in the world to you.

ChrisA

macrumors G5
Jan 5, 2006
Redondo Beach, California
My birthday is coming up on April 1. I would love to get a speedlight or some sort of off camera flash. I have no experience with off camera flashes. I have a nikon D40. I found a SB-400 AF speedlight on amazon for 129.00. Is that a good deal? I also found a SB-600 speedlight flash on amazon for about 190.00. Is that worth the extra money? What am I looking for in a flash? Can these flashes also do a strobe effect?

The best use of these flashes is for "bounce flash" or indirect lighting. Where the light is bounced off a rear wall or a ceailing. Notice that the light while still attached to the camera can be aimed up or even backwards.