Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Gloor

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Apr 19, 2007
Hi,

I am going to USA in January and I would like to buy the kit from Amazon (Nikon D90 DX 12.3MP Digital SLR Camera with 18-105mm f/3.5-5.6G ED AF-S VR DX Nikkor Zoom Lens)

Is D90 still the best purchase here?
Here is where I stand with the camera.

I am a beginner and this will be my first DSLR ever. I enjoy taking pictures and I love using my gf's D40 but I would like to learn more and more and would like to get a camera that not only will last but also will be sufficient enough when I get to know more.
I was thinking of getting body only but from threads here I realised that for start I should use the basic kit and then buy a lens when I am proficient enough to take advantage of it.
Good idea, right? Or do you think there is better camera on the horizon that will serve me better? I searched and searched and came to conclusion that I am a Nikon person so please stay in Nikon range if you think I can do better.

Another question that is also important. When I buy it through Amazon.com will I have international warranty? Ie, will my warranty be valid in UK? OR do I need to buy a separate purchase and if so, where? ( I couldn't see it on amazon.com)

Any other tips for me here? I know about the import duty thing.

Thanks in advance for any suggestion or help

jmdfd415

macrumors regular
Sep 9, 2008
The D90 is a great camera. I would def recommend it even as a first DSLR. It should last you quite a while and has enough features that you shouldnt out grow it. As far as the international warranty goes. From my understanding if you buy a USA model then the warranty will only be vaid in the USA.

Gloor

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Apr 19, 2007
thank you