Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

oseven

macrumors member
Original poster
Dec 30, 2008
London, UK
Ok, I'm sure I'm not the first to be in this kind of a dilemma, but I need some advice from people who have made the decision in the past and how they've found it.
Basically, I've always used compact cameras, but always wanted a DSLR for the manual focus, interchangeable lenses, image quality etc etc. I'm a designer and generally creative, and have often been in situations where I could really use a DSLR but I have never been able to justify the cost as I assume I wouldn't use it enough. On the other hand, I might fall in love with photography and have to invest more money in the hobby :rolleyes:

I don't wanna buy a standard, entry-level dslr as a 'happy medium', as if I'm going to get one I may aswell get a half decent one. I was looking at the Pentax K-x as a possibility.

My question is has anyone been in a similar situation and taken the leap and bought one and found it to be the best choice?

Thankss

SLC Flyfishing

Suspended
Nov 19, 2007
Portland, OR
Ok, I'm sure I'm not the first to be in this kind of a dilemma, but I need some advice from people who have made the decision in the past and how they've found it.
Basically, I've always used compact cameras, but always wanted a DSLR for the manual focus, interchangeable lenses, image quality etc etc. I'm a designer and generally creative, and have often been in situations where I could really use a DSLR but I have never been able to justify the cost as I assume I wouldn't use it enough. On the other hand, I might fall in love with photography and have to invest more money in the hobby :rolleyes:

I don't wanna buy a standard, entry-level dslr as a 'happy medium', as if I'm going to get one I may aswell get a half decent one. I was looking at the Pentax K-x as a possibility.