Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Designer Dale

macrumors 68040
Original poster
Mar 25, 2009
Folding space
Hi.

I am an old film photographer and I understand the chemical goings-on in silver salts that give batches of film different ISO ratings. I am a bit perplexed as to how this works with digital. I have researched the topic but have not found anything that satisfies my curiosity.

A memory card is a data recorder. It only records fast or slow and has not much to do with the ISO rating. Right/Wrong?

The camera sensor is the source of ISO in the digital world and physically larger sensors can capture more data. This I understand, but how does it vary something like sensitivity? Is the sensor on a dSLR manufactured with a set maximum ISO and adjusted down to other speeds within a set of parameters in-camera via menus?

Thanks in advance. I enjoy viewing the wonderful pics here every day.

Dale

iBookG4user

macrumors 604
Jun 27, 2006
Seattle, WA
Hi.

I am an old film photographer and I understand the chemical goings-on in silver salts that give batches of film different ISO ratings. I am a bit perplexed as to how this works with digital. I have researched the topic but have not found anything that satisfies my curiosity.

A memory card is a data recorder. It only records fast or slow and has not much to do with the ISO rating. Right/Wrong?

The camera sensor is the source of ISO in the digital world and physically larger sensors can capture more data. This I understand, but how does it vary something like sensitivity? Is the sensor on a dSLR manufactured with a set maximum ISO and adjusted down to other speeds within a set of parameters in-camera via menus?

Dale