Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

yankfan

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jan 24, 2009
I'm having a problem in transferring photos from Adobe Lightroom 1.4 to my webpage. When I look at the webpage on my Mac, they look great. When I go to a windows machine, the colors on the photos look, dull and the colors washed out. They are all JPG's so I don't know what I'm doing wrong. Please advice and thanks for all your help in advance.

Phrasikleia

macrumors 601
Feb 24, 2008
Over there------->
Any chance your Mac has a glossy monitor? The new Mac monitors are made to exaggerate saturation and contrast for your viewing pleasure, but do away with color and contrast accuracy in doing so. You might try calibrating your monitor to match the windows machine.

leighonigar

macrumors 6502a
May 5, 2007
I'm no expert on this kind of thing but I suspect that this is either something to do with the characteristics of the two screens, or the gamma settings of the computers to which they are attached. Or, perhaps, the browser you're using on the mac uses colour profiling and the one on the PC doesn't. Probably a bit of all.

You can change your Mac's gamma in displays in system prefs but probably best to wait for someone who knows what they're talking about.

James L

macrumors 6502a
Apr 14, 2004
I'm having a problem in transferring photos from Adobe Lightroom 1.4 to my webpage. When I look at the webpage on my Mac, they look great. When I go to a windows machine, the colors on the photos look, dull and the colors washed out. They are all JPG's so I don't know what I'm doing wrong. Please advice and thanks for all your help in advance.