Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Ja Di ksw

macrumors 65816
Original poster
Apr 9, 2003
Hi all, there's a dirt bike event tomorrow I was going to go to and try to get some pictures, I was wondering if anyone had advice for taking pictures at something like this? I've never tried at a sporting event before, and don't know much (well, anything), about dirt bikes :).

Here's some helpful info:

It's going to be in front of the Rathaus in Vienna: http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikiped...65.jpg/746px-Rathaus_Vienna_June_2006_165.jpg

I have a Canon 40D with the following lenses (all Canon):
24mm f/1.4L
50mm f/1.8
180mm Macro f/3.5L (yes, I know that's a big jump :()
300mm f/4L

And then my kit lens, 28mm-135mm f/3.5-5.6

I'm not a huge fan of the kit lens, but with all the movement going around and me not knowing much about dirt bikes I'm afraid I'll have to use it a lot :(, any advice on staying more with the primes, or even on using the kit lens?

Thanks in advance!

CrackedButter

macrumors 68040
Jan 15, 2003
51st State of America
Just take the 24mm L and get as close as you can, its dust proof so don't worry about spillage. I want mud on the lens so that you've taken me there almost. Don't come back with long distance telephoto shots, I can view them anytime of the day.

leandroc76

macrumors regular
Oct 27, 2003
Just take the 24mm L and get as close as you can, its dust proof so don't worry about spillage. I want mud on the lens so that you've taken me there almost. Don't come back with long distance telephoto shots, I can view them anytime of the day.

I jumped at the 24mm too, however that's about 35mm on the 40D.

It's fast... but... remember you will lose depth of field.

Also, 35mm from say 50 feet or even 25 feet is still not the same as 125mm to 200mm from 50 feet. Primes aren't "exactly" zoomed, they just cover a particular field of view.