Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

sgarringer

macrumors regular
Original poster
Jul 15, 2004
Cedar Rapids, IA
OK, so heres my question. For years I had a simple Point and Shoot camera. Whenever I took pictures my family and friends would always compliment on how great they thought the pictures looked (not the best source for constructive criticism though) and after about 5 years of this I started to feel that maybe I was good at finding the right shot of things.

I decided to break down and buy a dSLR (I ended up getting a used E-Volt E-500 from someone) with two kit lens. I finally got a chance to take some photos this weekend of something besides trees and pets :) and was hoping you guys would tell me honestly what you think. First of all, I'm a total novice so you'll have to excuse the fact that I had the camera on mostly full auto (set the ISO and f stop by hand but thats it)...

P7281066.JPG

The EXIF data:

Make OLYMPUS IMAGING CORP. Model E-500
Aperture Value f/3.5 Color Space sRGB
Exposure Bias Value 0 EV Exposure Program Program Creative
Flash No Flash Focal Length 14 mm
ISO 1250 Metering Mode Multi-Segment
Shutter Speed Value 1/25 sec

P7281118.JPG

ISO 1250 Metering Mode Multi-Segment
Shutter Speed Value 1/25 sec

P7281135.JPG

ISO 800 Metering Mode Multi-Segment
Shutter Speed Value 1/20 sec

I wont post a bunch more photos here, I do have an online album of most every photo I've ever shot (good & bad, it's more of an off-site archive) here http://gallery.planetcr.com/gallery2/v/shawn/

Anyway, thanks for your ideas, and I'm an adult and can take both the good and the bad.

Cooknn

macrumors 68020
Aug 23, 2003
Fort Myers, FL
I've been dealing with white balance issues lately, so the yellow cast on your second image got my attention. Opened it up in Bridge/Camera Raw CS3 and selected Auto White Balance. It looks a little better, eh?

Attachments

• P7281118_1.jpg