Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Bojack Horseman

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Oct 5, 2016
Atlanta, GA
I'm a hobby photographer thats shoots RAW and just bought my very first Macintosh, a 2018 Macbook Pro 13" with 16 GB RAM and 256 GB HD. This is the first time having such a small HD and obviously I'll need to buy an external drive to store all my photos. But with all my photos only on the external drive, I'll need a second drive to back up the photos. As a hobby photographer, do I need a fancy RAID 1 Array or should I just take the time to back up to a second HD? Money is a restriction. I'm not looking to spend more than $300 for 2-6 TBs of storage.

Edit: I should have clarified that I will have a third external HD dedicated just for Time Machine, so the two HDs that I'm talking about will be solely for my RAW photos.

Last edited:

robgendreau

macrumors 68040
Jul 13, 2008
RAID isn't a backup per se. It could protect you in that one drive internally fails the other can take over, but that's not backup for mistakenly deleted files, etc.

It would be more cost effective and simpler to just get an external and then at least one more to back that up, and preferably two or use the cloud for the second. Look up 3-2-1 backups.

MCAsan

macrumors 601
Jul 9, 2012
Atlanta
Basic: Dedicated large drive for use by Time Machine to backup the entire file system, not just photos or documents.

Intermediate: Purchase 2 drives for Time Machine and use one per week. When drive 1 is in use, drive 2 is offsite somewhere it safe and not likely be reformatted for stolen.

Advanced: Next level up with be to use an online cloud service like BackBlaze.

F-Train

macrumors 68020
Apr 22, 2015
NYC & Newfoundland
I'm not looking to spend more than $300 for 2-6 TBs of storage.

You can purchase 4TB of hard disk storage for about $100.