Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Rajanna

macrumors newbie
Original poster
May 26, 2006
India
I am a DSLR newbie with a Canon 1000D and am quite enjoying learning how to use it. Do I need the Canon Software Suite that is bundled along with the camera as I am already using Aperture and Photoshop elements for Mac? Thanks in advance for any help on this.

toxic

macrumors 68000
Nov 9, 2008
well, since you have it, go ahead and try it out. DPP (Digital Photo Professional) is actually a pretty good RAW converter, with some features that only manufacturer-made software can have. it doesn't have much in the way of photo-editing tools, though.

duncanapple

macrumors 6502
Jun 12, 2008
I seldom to never install the bundled software as 99% of it is junk. Given the options you have on a mac, and the fact that you have a couple pro apps, you shouldnt need most of them.

However, there is one you will need off that disk. I hadn't installed any of them and came across this problem - to update your camera with the latest firmware as they release new versions, you need the EOS utility (or whatever its called). I wouldnt however, install the other 10+ programs on the CD if your using aperature, iphoto, PS, etc.

Enjoy the new camera, I am loving mine!

- Chris

Phrasikleia

macrumors 601
Feb 24, 2008
Over there------->
However, there is one you will need off that disk. I hadn't installed any of them and came across this problem - to update your camera with the latest firmware as they release new versions, you need the EOS utility (or whatever its called).

I don't think you even need that. I recently installed a firmware upgrade on my XSi, and I've never so much as unwrapped the software that came with my camera. I just followed the instructions for using an SD card to update the firmware.

ChrisA

macrumors G5
Jan 5, 2006
Redondo Beach, California