Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

BDwy27

macrumors regular
Original poster
May 27, 2015
Might be a dumb question.... do you fast charge overnight. I got the MagSafe and don’t want to put it in the 20W c brick cause it will charge too fast overnight... was thinking on finding a 15w or smaller usb c charger to plug the mag safe in for overnight charging.... trying to not damage battery etc

Thoughts?

cchs2014

macrumors regular
Dec 1, 2014
I did last night and wondered if that would affect the battery... This is my first time using a fast charger but I usually plug the charger in before bed. The phone finished charging between the time I got in bed and then actually decided to go to sleep.

Reactions: BDwy27

BDwy27

macrumors regular
Original poster
May 27, 2015
Yeah, I’m not sure if I’ll just charge my phone when I get up or what. Just don’t want the phone to over heat etc. don’t have experience with the fast charger. Coming from the iPhone X... I just used a wireless charger Matt

kid84

macrumors regular
Sep 17, 2017
I charged overnight everyday since .... iPhone 5 !
Last night was overnight with MagSafe too, and will doing that every night until next year upgrade ....

I have AppleCare+ protection added , and dont worry much about that

beach bum

macrumors demi-goddess
Oct 6, 2011
Philly
When needed, I just do regular charging for my 11PM. Even though I’m working from home for now, I listen to music through my air pods for most of the day. I need music in my life to maintain sanity.

BDwy27

macrumors regular
Original poster
May 27, 2015
Thanks for the replies. Gonna hold off on the MagSafe stick to the Qi wireless charger I have. Will use fast charging during day when really need to charge fast!

rKunda

macrumors 68000
Jul 14, 2008
Wireless charge in bedroom and at my work desk. Only use a plug in the car usually.

Cryates

macrumors 68040
Nov 19, 2013