Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

fwtong

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Sep 2, 2007
I know that there are a ton of Aperture and Lightroom threads out there, but mine is slightly different, I am looking to find out if Aperture uses significantly more resources then Lightroom. I know that the best thing to do is to try both myself. However, that really won't work well for me since I'm new to photo editing, but I want to get more into it, so I won't be able to put the programs through its paces. I just want to pick one app and just learn it from the ground up and since I don't have any prior experience, I won't bring any personal biases into either program.

The key differentiating feature for me is going to the speed of the program. I have a MacBook Pro 2.16Ghz with 2GB of RAM. I'm not looking into upgrading further because the prices on laptop 2GB RAM is pretty outrageous. I know that LR uses fewer resources the Aperture, but will the difference in performance be significantly noticeable on my system?

Jan 30, 2006
I have a MB with 2Gb of RAM and I use Aperture. It is definitely slower than Lightroom when editing photos, but I can't say that it is a pain to use it, in fact, I love Aperture.

I would guess that the MBP would be even better. So I suggest you buy the one you like the most.:)

Kamera RAWr

macrumors 65816
May 15, 2007
Sitting on a rig somewhere
I will say that Aperture uses a significant amount of resources. I've heard Lightroom uses less, but I've never used it. You will notice it on your system, even the MBP, if you have a few applications open at the same time. Occationally I notice it even on my 2.4 SR MBP with 2gigs ram.
That being said, Aperture is a fantastic program. Its great for organizing and managing your digital photo library and doing common image adjustments. The benefits outweigh, IMO, any "stress" it might put on your system :p:D

valiar

macrumors regular