Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

mcarnes

macrumors 68000
Original poster
Mar 14, 2004
USA! USA!
I'm getting the 5DII next month and wondering if I can do use photoshop with the HD video files. I just want to do some Levels and Curves adjustments. I'm an old photographer but new to video (I've never even used iMovie). Thanks.

brendanryder

macrumors 6502a
Dec 28, 2006
Calgary
I'm getting the 5DII next month and wondering if I can do use photoshop with the HD video files. I just want to do some Levels and Curves adjustments. I'm an old photographer but new to video (I've never even used iMovie). Thanks.

im 99% sure you cant. PS is strictly still images

Lovesong

macrumors 65816
If all you want to do is curves and levels, then PS extended can do this (careful though- I spent a couple of hours before realizing that I need to add a curves/levels layer, else I was editing a single frame). One thing that you might need to do is covert the movie file to a series of images (which QT pro can do easily).

mcarnes

macrumors 68000
Original poster
Mar 14, 2004
USA! USA!
I guess what I'm asking is can I edit one frame like I would a regular still, and then apply the effect to the rest of the video? Will it keep the sound?

The 5DII puts out common .mov files that are 1080p.

I know PS Extended will handle video (I should have said that to avoid the posts that say it can't), but I haven't found anything that shows how to actually do it. Just a few bad youtube videos.

I have the standard version and don't want to buy the extended version if it will be too hard to use. I'm not into 3D, and don't use it professionally.

Thanks.

Lovesong

macrumors 65816
I guess what I'm asking is can I edit one frame like I would a regular still, and then apply the effect to the rest of the video? Will it keep the sound?

Thanks.