Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

HomeingPigeon

macrumors regular
Original poster
Aug 1, 2007
So I was uploading some pictures and saw these spots. I then took a picture of my wall hoping that that would show all the spots. I put a circle around all the spots I could find. Do these look like dust to you? How would I go about getting these spots to go away? I have a Nikon D40.

Thanks

Attachments

• DSC_0004.JPG
    DSC_0004.JPG
    137.3 KB · Views: 117

telecomm

macrumors 65816
Nov 30, 2003
Rome
Yeah, it's probably dust (though it's had to tell from that shot with all the compression artifacts).

See here for some suggestions.

The bottom line is don't worry too much about it, it probably won't have any effect on the majority of shots you're likely to take.

telecomm

macrumors 65816
Nov 30, 2003
Rome
No problem.

I'm still a bit of a noob when it comes to dSLRs, but if there's one thing I think I've learned, it's that a bit of dust really isn't a big deal.

AlaskaMoose

macrumors 68040
Apr 26, 2008
Alaska
So I was uploading some pictures and saw these spots. I then took a picture of my wall hoping that that would show all the spots. I put a circle around all the spots I could find. Do these look like dust to you? How would I go about getting these spots to go away? I have a Nikon D40.

Thanks

You can clean the sensor, but soon enough more dust will accumulate on it. Small dust like that in an image can easily be cleaned with PSE, CS3, etc.

canonguy

macrumors member
Jun 13, 2009
No problem.

I'm still a bit of a noob when it comes to dSLRs, but if there's one thing I think I've learned, it's that a bit of dust really isn't a big deal.

Dust on your lens is not a big deal... Dust on your sensor is.

Remove your lens...remove the UV filter (if you don't have one, get one) and clean it front and back, and clean the lens front and back.