Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

mkr160

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Aug 20, 2008
NY
Hello, I am new to the digital SLR world. That being said, I have a Canon XSi camera and the kit lens. What is the advantage of using the EF-S image stabilized lenses? What would happen if you use a different lens with out the built in IS? And if you do, how do you get the image stabilization feature. Sorry if this sounds strange, but im not too familiar with the lens systems yet. Thanks.

robbieduncan

Moderator emeritus
Jul 24, 2002
Harrogate
There is no advantage of using EF-S over EF lenses (apart from perhaps weight). Canon bodies do not have IS so the advantage of IS lenses is that they compensate for some shaking on longer exposures. If you use a non-IS lens you have no stabilisation: you will then need a faster shutter speed (or a tripod) to get sharp shots (at least faster that you could get away with when using an IS lens).

toxic

macrumors 68000
Nov 9, 2008
What is the advantage of using the EF-S image stabilized lenses?

EF-S lenses are lighter and cheaper than EF lenses, and have focal lengths that make more sense than EF lenses. image stabilization (IS) lets you handhold lenses slower than the 1/(focal length * 1.6) rule by at least one stop (varies with lens, photographer, and focal length). note that IS does NOT stop subject motion, only camera shake.

What would happen if you use a different lens with out the built in IS?

then you won't have image stabilization. Canon cameras do not have built-in stabilization, like Nikon and unlike Sony or Pentax.

And if you do, how do you get the image stabilization feature.

all Canon lenses with image stabilization have "IS" at the end of their name. Sigma uses "OS" (optical stabilization), Tamron "VC" (vibration compensation).

AlaskaMoose

macrumors 68040
Apr 26, 2008
Alaska