Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

bolyki0

macrumors newbie
Original poster
May 22, 2016
Hello guys,

Currently I have a late 2011 machine with a 6770M card. The machine rocks with the i7 and 16gb ram.

However, I do a little gaming too and I would like to run games on higher or ultra settings, but remain in full hd resolution or maybe try 2560x1440. Currently I'm running OS X on 2560 but Windows and it's games are set to full hd only.

I'm more after having great settings rather than high resolution on my external monitor, even though it's capable of 4K.

Now, I am new to this, I do see the point and the workflow of this egpu project.

I still would have a few questions:

Now, this machine is thunderbolt 1 only. Would the settings of a game affect the performance of what it can produce in full hd? As far as I understand, the limitations of thunderbolt 1 and it's speed is mainly a resolution problem over full hd. Am I wrong?

If I would get one of them razer cores or some egpu chassis put a GTX 980 in it, would I be able to run games or high setting?

Reason of all this is, that the only machine coming with a non mobile gpu is the Mac Pro which hasn't been updated in a while and even if they will, it carries a hefty price for this purpose only. I also use final cut and after effects on OS X so it wouldn't be just overkill for me, but I would still like to solve this from a smaller budget.

Neither I would like to replace or sell my 17 as I really love this machine and apart from the gpu it's still more than enough.

Samuelsan2001

macrumors 604
Oct 24, 2013