Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

gamerz

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Oct 2, 2006
Hello,

I am looking for a camera for my entry into DSLR photography. I have been researching for at least 5 months, and none of it has really helped me to decide what camera to get. The models that I am looking at are the Canon XTi, the Nikon D40, and the Nikon D80. I already have some old Nikkor lenses, and have been playing around with them for a bit. Here they are:

AF 28-80 f/3.5-5.6D

AF 70-300 f/4-5.6G

Read some reviews on these at kenrockwell.com, and have been playing around with them for a bit on my old Nikon film camera, and they seem to be "clunky". It doesn't matter to me if I did use these lenses or not.

That being said, I would like to have a nikon camera as opposed to a Canon, their ergonomics feel just right for me. I have held the Nikon D40, and the XTi, both were comfortable in my hand, but the D40 felt a bit more "solid". I have yet to hold a D80.

Alright, know to the meat of this dilemma.

D80:
Perfect: A bit out of my price range (I am a poor student). Would get it in a heartbeat if I had the money, which I sadly do not....

XTi:

I am a little hesitant to be going to a system that I don't know. I know Canon is a great company, their products are great, the pictures produced from their cameras are great. When holding the XTi, the kit lens made it feel alot cheaper than the D40. I would get the XTi, but I am a little hesitant on moving to an unfamiliar system.

D40:
I would get this... BUT: