Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

archJeff

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Feb 13, 2009
earth
I am new to the idea of getting a SLR camera, and currently have a canon point and shoot. I am taking photography as a class while studying in Italy and with others cameras have noticed what a difference a SLR will make. In attempt to not be over wordy in a question, it is a question between the Nikon and canon kings of the SLR world. Does anyone know if either company has a better reputation? I know both manufacturers are very good but it is hard to settle on a company knowing how much money will be sunk into the lenses. Without too much technical jargon some help would be appreciated. Also for either brand what entry level cameras I should consider and lenses. I am an architecture major so I am always taking pics of buildings or details on buildings. I have recently been having fun with night photography. I do not take action pictures very often if that makes much of a difference.

rogersmj

macrumors 68020
Sep 10, 2006
Indianapolis, IN
Please read up a little. This has been discussed many, many, many times, you may find useful information in other threads.

Short answer: both companies have excellent reputations, both produce excellent products, and neither one of them is going away. They both have about an equal 40-something percent share of the DSLR market. You cannot go wrong with either. Go try them out, see which feels better to you.

Beginner models:
With Nikon, at the bargain-basement $400-$500 it's the D40/D60. The big caveat with those is they don't have an in-body focus motor, so they only work with the newer AF-S lenses. Stepping up to the D90 for about $1000 gets you a lot more camera and an in-body focus motor, opening up a wider range of lens selection.