Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

shutterangle

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Aug 29, 2018
Hi there, newbie here. I joined to post this thread. I've read through tons of threads here and learned a lot, and I've managed to get a 1080ti running in my 2009 MP 4,1 flashed to 5,1 with power from the built in connectors + a SATA port. It's working great! However, when it goes under VERY heavy load, it crashes the computer. Not a huge deal because that doesn't happen very often for me (video editing/colouring), but I'd like to prevent this in future if possible, so I'm considering hooking up a PSU for the card externally, and running the 2 8-pin connectors in through an open pci-e slot in the back. I'm not interested in the pixlas mod or any of the soldering stuff since I'm no good at this stuff.

I've seen the threads about jumping the motherboard connector so that the ePSU stays on all the time, but I've also seen in this thread that you can connect to the computer's power so that it detects when to turn it on and off. I'd like to attempt to do that if possible. In that thread it mentions using a molex to SATA connector... although if I'm not mistaken, that's because that particular PSU uses molex as the detection.

My question is, if I were to get a basic PSU like this one, which doesn't seem to me to have molex, would I be able to just connect one of its SATA connectors (assuming it has them..total newb here) to a drive bay for instance, and would it detect the power to turn it on and off?

bsbeamer

macrumors 601
Sep 19, 2012
I'll give you the experience from a client's machine with GPUs in an external PCIe expander box:
Start with COLD everything.
Power on the external PCIe expander.
Let run fully and all components get up to speed (say 1 minute).
Power on Mac Pro tower.

If you do NOT follow that order, the GPUs (and other components) in the PCIe expander do not show up.