Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Veritas&Equitas

macrumors 68000
Original poster
Oct 31, 2005
Twin Cities, MN
Hey all. Like I admitted before, I'm a total noob with my D50, but I'm learning! I have a tripod, and my D50, but I'd love to get the HDR shot...

So...do I have to take like 5 separate pictures with the differing levels of exposure (-2, -1, 0, +1, +2), or can I take one with all the different levels? Also, should I use Photomatix or Photoshop to alter the dynamic range once I have all the 5 shots? I guess I'm just looking for a little advice, and maybe a pointage to a tutorial? I've looked, but no one has a *simple* answer to my question about the exposure...thanks!

ksz

macrumors 68000
Oct 28, 2003
USA
I'm not familiar with the D50, but the D200 has an auto bracketing feature that lets you dial in a "spread". One of the available spreads is -2, -1, 0, +1, +2. Next, set the continuous shooting mode to High Speed. Finally, compose your shot and hold the shutter down continuously and count down until the 5 frames have been shot, then release the shutter. Hence, only one press of the shutter release button!

Coheebuzz

macrumors 6502a
Oct 10, 2005
Nicosia, Cyprus
The problem with most DSLR's with the exception of a few higher-end models is that they only allow you to take 3 shots in different exposures, thats not enough for digital since the dynamic range in each photo is much less than film.

You can change the range after you've shot the first 3 shots but you'll need a really sturdy tripod so you don't move the camera after you pressed some buttons on it. If anyone knows of a good technique to do this please share!

By the way here is another tutorial on using Photomatix, i think this guy goes too far sometimes but he also has some unbelievably stunning shots.

beavo451

macrumors 6502
Jun 22, 2006