Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

XianPalin

macrumors 6502
Original poster
May 26, 2006
Hello,

I'm pretty new to the whole digital photography thing, but I bought myself a Nikon D40 with the kit lens and 55-200VR zoom lens to try and learn. The one thing that's always bothered me about my point and shoot and now this camera is the awful pictures of people that come out when using the flash.

I've looked around and seen what an improvement bouncing a flash does, so I've narrowed it down and I intend to buy a SB-600 flash at some point.

My question is, is it worth it for me to try and start learning with the flash as a beginner, or am I better off trying to learn everything else about the camera first before I throw in another thing to learn into the mix?

Thanks.

compuwar

macrumors 601
Oct 5, 2006
Northern/Central VA
My question is, is it worth it for me to try and start learning with the flash as a beginner, or am I better off trying to learn everything else about the camera first before I throw in another thing to learn into the mix?

Thanks.

With the caveat that it's *always* better to learn to light well, and the more options you have the better, you might try adding in some negative flash compensation first to see if that gets you the images you're looking for.

pprior

macrumors 65816
Aug 1, 2007
Most modern flash systems are pretty easy to use. The problem you will have is that on-camera flash is best used as fill rather than primary illumination and with the kit lens you have, especially at zoom range you are very limited in aperture so you'll be getting very limited ambient light.

Bouncing flash is really not that hard, you just have to make sure you remember to change flash orientation if you're switching from portrait to landscape shooting. Most modern flashes do everything exposure-wise on manual camera settings.