Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

wondersock

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jun 3, 2020
I have been using external WD hard drives for several years. My hard drives are all formatted for both MAC and PC.

I got a new 10TB external in 2019, barely used. I also just bought a new PC, and it opens my drive, opens Lightroom, then crashes.

I have now repaired the disk several times, it says the drive has been repaired but it continues to do the same thing over and over. I have no issues on my MacBook pro. This is not a drive formatting issue, I need advise.

I have been having very bad luck with PC's so I am thinking it may be an issue with the PC. I have already returned a brand new PC from CyberPower PC because it came with a damaged graphics card.

All I have done on this PC since getting it, was download the creative suite apps I need from Adobe.

Attachments

• IMG_5942.jpg
    IMG_5942.jpg
    88.5 KB · Views: 173
  • IMG_5943.jpg
    IMG_5943.jpg
    110 KB · Views: 120

BigMcGuire

Cancelled
Jan 10, 2012
Yeah, as a long time Windows user - I can tell you that I've had this happen on my drive (8TB Seagate) that I use for Mac and PC backups. I partition the drive - one that has the TimeMachine partition for Mac and 1 that has NTFS for Windows 10. That largely resolves it for me.

As long as you can view the data - I would ignore it. I've done these "scans/fixes" till I was blue in the face and it never changed (even booted pre-windows to scandisk). Partitioning helped a lot in that department. (Have a small EXFAT partition if you want to transfer data back and forth).

wondersock

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jun 3, 2020
Unfortunately I can’t ignore it. It kicks me out of the program that I am trying to use every single time. I need to run light room, and it is impossible with this error I’m given.

DeltaMac

macrumors G5
Jul 30, 2003
Delaware