Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Chairman.Jobbie

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Sep 9, 2011
Ive just brought the MacBook Pro 15" top spec (ready made) and im coming from a 5 year old 2013 MacBook Pro.

Im new to thunderbolt and so can someone tell me what the FASTEST way to backup using "Super Duper" software to an external drive is? I currently have a standard non flash drive I back up too.

So what should I buy to maximise on the transfer speeds of Thunderbolt?
Maybe even a wireless drive (for at home backups) would be good?

I saw this on Apple website (just an example) and thought it looked appropriate....

https://www.apple.com/uk/shop/produ...b-extreme-510-usb-usb-c-portable-ssd?fnode=5f

but then thought to seek advice here to educate myself alittle. Thanks in advance.

iMacDragon

macrumors 68020
Oct 18, 2008
UK
The absolute fastest way will be with a true thunderbolt nvme based external ssd. ( something like https://www.amazon.co.uk/Certified-...n&ie=UTF8&qid=1533975819&sr=1-1&keywords=tekq )

Something like that sandisk ssd ( or the samsung T5 ) will be 'fast', relatively speaking, but still limited to usb 3.1 bandwidth and SATA III speeds, so max of ~550MB/s, a true nvme thunderbolt drive can do multiple TB per second, same as internal ssd.

Chairman.Jobbie

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Sep 9, 2011
The absolute fastest way will be with a true thunderbolt nvme based external ssd. ( something like https://www.amazon.co.uk/Certified-...n&ie=UTF8&qid=1533975819&sr=1-1&keywords=tekq )

Something like that sandisk ssd ( or the samsung T5 ) will be 'fast', relatively speaking, but still limited to usb 3.1 bandwidth and SATA III speeds, so max of ~550MB/s, a true nvme thunderbolt drive can do multiple TB per second, same as internal ssd.