Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Fornothingelse

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Feb 13, 2008
I am a professional photographer that works from home. I trying to figure out the best set up for file storage. Currently I have an early 08 Mac Pro that has two 2tb drives in it. they are dedicated for file storage. I also have external drives that I back-up all of the internal drives too. Here's the problem, those drives are full!

Now I'm trying to figure out what the best option is. I don't have a lot of space to set up a rack/stack server in my office.

I have looked at the Western Digital 8TB (Sharespace), and think this could be my best option. Obviously I would have to get 2 of the so I can set up a back-up.

Do I have any other options?

Edge100

macrumors 68000
May 14, 2002
Where am I???
I am a professional photographer that works from home. I trying to figure out the best set up for file storage. Currently I have an early 08 Mac Pro that has two 2tb drives in it. they are dedicated for file storage. I also have external drives that I back-up all of the internal drives too. Here's the problem, those drives are full!

Now I'm trying to figure out what the best option is. I don't have a lot of space to set up a rack/stack server in my office.

I have looked at the Western Digital 8TB (Sharespace), and think this could be my best option. Obviously I would have to get 2 of the so I can set up a back-up.

Do I have any other options?

http://www.newertech.com/products/voyagerq.php

This is a really fantastic product that will allow you to do rotating backups of your main drives. And it has an eSATA port so you'll get speeds that approach those of your internal drives.

The Drobo, as mentioned, is also a great option, but lacks eSATA so you're limited to FW800 speeds (which might not be an enormous problem if you're just doing nightly backups).

Ruahrc

macrumors 65816
Jun 9, 2009