Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

.mark.

macrumors 6502
Original poster
May 28, 2007
Jersey, C.I.
Hi, I'm new to digital photography and recently (~2 months ago) bought a 450d and have picked up a few lenses (kit, 50 1.8, 55-250 IS). I've just been reading about filters, specifically polarizing, and discovering the effects they can have to your shots. Is there any restrictions on what filters will fit on canon lenses. I can see that the diameter of the lens is important - so for me I would need either 52mm or 58mm depending on which lens(es) I want to use the filter on, but other than that can I just buy any filter? Specifically I'm looking on the Hoya PRO1 Digital Circular PL Filter, although I've been googling this and have just come across a thread on another forum where someone is talking about the lens cap not fitting over a hoya filter? Would I be better going for canon branded filters? Will the lens cap fit over these?

JFreak

macrumors 68040
Jul 11, 2003
Tampere, Finland
Hoya filters are really slim so there's no chance of inserting a lens cap into one of those. But I have found it beneficial to have the slimmest filter as I can quite comfortably "forget" the filter installed into the lens permanently.

B&W is good brand too, but more expensive. Hoya has a better price/quality ratio. Don't spend too much until you can justify L lenses which many share the same diameter (which makes it possible to use same filters on different lenses).

iBookG4user

macrumors 604
Jun 27, 2006
Seattle, WA
Hoya filters are really slim so there's no chance of inserting a lens cap into one of those. But I have found it beneficial to have the slimmest filter as I can quite comfortably "forget" the filter installed into the lens permanently.