Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

flosseR

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Jan 1, 2009
the cold dark north
ok, first: i am an amateur photographer, and can't afford 4000 euro lenses etc. So I usually go with the bang for the buck and use 3rd party equivalents.
I currently shoot Nikon and have a multitude of lenses (well a few)
These include, 50mm prime, 105mm Macro (Sigma), 70-200mm (Sigma), 17-70 (Sigma).
Now, I have gotten some spare cash and I would like to upgrade my lenses to a bit higher standard.
Here is my dilemma: I am between upgrading the 105mm to the Nikon version with VR or the 17-70 to a Nikon equivalent (though the 17-55 is EXPENSIVE!!).
I shoot on a D90 body which is good enough for me but which lens should I upgrade? or whatever else? The other option is to save a little longer and upgrade to the D700 in a few months...

ARGHHH decisions...

Phrasikleia

macrumors 601
Feb 24, 2008
Over there------->
You need to ask yourself which types of shots you are missing on account of your equipment (or lack thereof). Do you really need to handhold that 100mm macro (in which case VR will be very helpful) or would you perhaps get more bang for your buck by investing in a really nice tripod and ballhead? Or maybe adding some flash capabilities would move your photography forward. It really depends on what it is you want to do that your current equipment will not allow. So what is it?

flosseR

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Jan 1, 2009
the cold dark north
hmm you have a very good point there. I like my tripod and don't see the need to upgrade it. I have a Pan head on it and am still thinking what benefits a ball head would bring.