Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

genshi

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Hello all,

I had a friend ask me to do some test headshots of her to see if she can get any modeling interest going; she asked me because she liked my photography, though I had never done headshots before (I do mostly street photography and arty lofi stuff) so I would greatly appreciate any comments or constructive criticisms on these (we were going for just a very straight ahead shot, nothing fancy; looking more for comments on the technical aspects of these photos):

3298107231_90552f477a.jpg

3298986046_55f3649536.jpg

3298934178_04cb30ddde.jpg

Thanks again for any advice!

Digital Skunk

macrumors G3
Dec 23, 2006
In my imagination
Or in other words, are these good enough to be used professionally? I guess that's what I'm asking as I have never done "studio" headshots before...

They aren't bad. Very simple which is nice.

I'd say move her off of the wall, about three to four feet next time, especially if you're using natural light. That will prevent that shadow on the background or wall.

Put the focus point on her face, or make sure her eyes are the sharpest thing in your frame.... I think that may actually be the web compression though.

Lastly (for now), always take a portrait shot, that space on the sides isn't needed. Also get a little closer. My general rule of thumb for quick and dirty nat light head-shots is to do close up head, then bust, then waist. Look left, look right, looks straight ahead. Then when editing the subject gets all images B&W and color after I do some simple toning and sharpening.

BAM! Head shots, less than 10 minutes, less than $100. :)

compuwar

macrumors 601
Oct 5, 2006
Northern/Central VA