Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Ryan1524

macrumors 68020
Original poster
Apr 9, 2003
Canada GTA
Hi everyone. This is my first time covering a club event. My friends are pretty awesome DJs from McMaster University, and we're trying to bring the culture down to a smaller town, Hamilton.

I'd appreciate any critique. Don't mind to be gentle, or I'll never learn.

Flickr Link

Alex
3242132107_1a9e8a4ec1.jpg

Jarod
3242982870_074f7d196f.jpg

Andrew
3242163643_e4e8ca8463.jpg

If you're in Hamilton, check out the Facebook group (mEDM), and come and say Hi.

Thanks
~ryan

miles01110

macrumors Core
Jul 24, 2006
The Ivory Tower (I'm not coming down)
The first two have the best lighting (which still isn't great- probably not your fault due to the assumedly poor lighting in the venue as well as using the flash) but the third looks a little flat and overly warm. I like the cropping of the second one the most, to me the position of the subject's head on the right- and upper-most third of the frame is a little distracting.

sl1200mk2

macrumors 6502
Oct 17, 2006
Personally, I don't like the lighting. It really doesn't set a mood or vibe, it's just sort of over powering. I would have tried something much different with the flash or darkened and done a lot of selective burning to tone things down and try to give it more of a club vibe.

Don't get me wrong... they aren't 'bad'. I realize conditions are terrible and being in a smaller town you probably don't have a club with high end lighting. I just think they lost a mood and feeling you could have possibly captured rather than just that much brightness and detail.