Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

kelio13

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Aug 2, 2008
California
I'm getting a Canon Digital Rebel XTi and am researching lenses, and I'm not sure what the advantages are of fixed focal length lenses as opposed to zoom lenses. It seems like zoom lenses would be more practical because they can be used for a wider range of distances without having to change the lens (and also since I'm a college student and can't afford more than one semi-expensive lens at the moment). I've been reading some reviews of both types, but I don't really know which would be a better investment. Any advice?

costabunny

macrumors 68020
May 15, 2008
Weymouth, UK
as a student and if you only want one lens to start off I strongly reccomend a zoom of the 18-70 range.

Fixed focals are generally better quality (but only to someone looking closely at enlargements). For most of us Zooms are fine (try to get the mid price range of money permits).

Kit lenses (included with many offers) are ok to start out with, bit if you are buying seperately then get a slightly better one (say one with an f stop range of 3.5-4.5).

later perhaps a fixed focal or two would compliment, and later is better as you will know what focal lenghts you are best shooting at. (example myself I prefer to shoot around 120 - 200 range and never really have a use for anything less).

hope this helps

Westside guy

macrumors 603
Oct 15, 2003
The soggy side of the Pacific NW
You're not going to find any consensus on this. :)

I personally think, in your case, a zoom is a better option - but there will be people that will argue for fixed focal length lenses and "zooming with your feet". It's all subjective, and there are pluses and minuses to either approach.

CrackedButter

macrumors 68040
Jan 15, 2003
51st State of America