Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Aperture

macrumors 68000
Original poster
Mar 19, 2006
PA
Hey Guys. Tomorrow night im going to head off with my Canon 300d and a basic 18-55mm lens to the HS football game. Can anyone tell me what settings on my camera I should use for the shots? I'm still learning about the nitty gritty parts of photography (ie aperture/shutter/ISO/etc). What should I do? On my camera, I have Aperture Priority, Shutter Priority, & your other pre-set modes including a sport function. Should I manually set the variables or should I use Sport and let it do the work? I would rather do it manually as I want this to be a learning experience.:) Can anyone help me?

Thanks!

ramuman

macrumors regular
Mar 7, 2005
Keep the camera in AV mode or manual mode. Set aperture as wide open as it will go. On the CMOS sensor, ISO 800 should be ok for noise. See what kind of shutter speeds you're getting, for walking/still shots, 1/100 ish should be ok (or you can use the 1/focal lengthx1.6 multiplier rule). If action shots are not around 1/500th or faster, you'll have blur. Goto higher ISOs if need be, I'm almost certain you'll end up needing 1600, especially on the modest aperture of that lens (I believe it is about a f/4-5.6 lens?).

Sport mode will basically do what I said above, but it will limit you sometimes in that it might drag the shutter (use a slow shutter) to get proper exposure. In manual or Av mode, you can shoot 1 or 2 stops underexposed to reduce blur and can make up some of that in PP.

If you can afford it and will be doing this a lot, consider a lens with a wide aperture - the 85mm f/1.8 (~$300) would be great for the price if you'll be reasonably close to the action.

Enjoy and post pics :)

Aperture

macrumors 68000
Original poster
Mar 19, 2006
PA