Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

DevilDog

macrumors regular
Original poster
Dec 12, 2005
Ohio
I just got my D50 2 weeks ago, and wanted to buy some lenses for it. All I have is the 28-80mm 'stock' lens. So: I wanted to know if all of you could get together and make a guide on camera lenses, such as the difference between macro and zoom and fisheye and all that. On Nikon's website alone there are 80 some different lenses. I think it would be a good resource to a lot of people. Is this feasible? Thanks!

Abstract

macrumors Penryn
Dec 27, 2002
Location Location Location
Well I'm no expert, but here it goes....

(oh man, I wrote so much and didn't even intend to do so. Got a bit carried away, I guess)

Macro lenses have the ability to focus on things that are very close. So if you have the 18-55 mm kit lens with the D50 (or 28-80 mm equivalent in 35 mm format, I guess), you usually have to be around 40-50 cm away from the subject you're focusing on in order to get it in focus. If you have a macro lense, you'll be able to focus on a subject even if it's only 20-25 cm away.

A zoom lense is any lens where the focal length is adjustable. For example, your 18-55 mm kit lens can have any focal length from 18 mm to 55 mm. In english, it means that you can shoot wide looking photos (at 18 mm) and also zoom in and get closer by going to 55 mm focal length. A 70-300 mm lens will be able to see further away since it can reach 300 mm.
Even a 12-24 mm lense is considered a "zoom" lense because of the adjustable focal length, although even when you zoom in, you're not going to zoom in very far.