Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Flabasha

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Dec 21, 2011
TLDR: Services for the iPad Pro are being held this Friday, on Craigslist.

So, this will be too lengthy, but here goes. I am an old school Apple fanboy, with my first Mac being the bizarre DuoDock laptop that I bought for $100 (without the dock), from the smelly IT guy at my first job. I’ve been the happy owner of many, many Macs and two iPad Pros over the past two decades (Yeesh). I’ve used the iPads primarily for art, and movie watching, though my kids use the first-gen, now-cracked iPad Pro for Minecraft, or whatever the hell they’re doing while I’m being a terrible, absent parent.

I’m a TV editor, so I’ve also been interested in the prospect of editing on the iPad. But mostly, the use case has been for drawing. While I adore Procreate and the Apple Pencil - and the AirDrop feature with my MacBook Pro - I had become increasingly infuriated by the Playskool-level iPadOS. I’ve spent hours and hours over the past year trying to find files that I just sent to the iPad, or wrestling with the atrocious “Files” app just to share pages between art apps on the iPad itself, or the last straw of attempting to import 4 fonts, and simply share them on a systemwide level between various art apps. Despite my mounting frustration, I figured there was no other game in town, due to the fantastic drawing experience of the Apple Pencil. And, I mean, Apple owns my soul. right? (It’s in the EULA.) But then… I got to thinking…