Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

salmaa09

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jun 28, 2017
Hey community,

I am a professional developer and looking to buy a new MacBook Pro. Why? Because I am coming from an early 2013 model which shows its ages.

As many developers, I heavily rely on the function keys in my preferred editors and development environments. As I see it, the 15" only offers this touch bar and I don't think Apple will ever release one without it in the future.

Now I wanted to ask, how you guys, who heavily rely on physical function keys, have accommodate to it. I really need feedback from the function keys, because I am often resting my fingers on the keys in the debugger for instance, so that I can stay focused on the screen.
If some sort of feedback is not possible, is there a way to remap the function keys to some other keys? (FN+1,...)

This is main concern with the new models. Furthermore, the 2015 base model is not an option. It has no discrete graphics and is not that powerful, so that an upgrade from the 2013 model is not worth the premium price.

Patcell

macrumors 6502a
Aug 8, 2016
Bergen County, NJ
You can force the touch bar to show the traditional function keys on a per-app basis in settings. As far as physical feedback though... I think you're out of luck with the new Pros.

salmaa09

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jun 28, 2017
What about a very recent pre-owned 2015 15" that has dGPU and AppleCare+?

That's what I did
Unfortunately, it's not an option. The company which I'm working for always buys new models from their contractors.
[doublepost=1498666976][/doublepost]
You can force the touch bar to show the traditional function keys on a per-app basis in settings. As far as physical feedback though... I think you're out of luck with the new Pros.