Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

crazydreaming

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
A friend of mine asked awhile ago if I would help her make a modeling portfolio for her. She realizes I'm just starting out and so is she, so she's willing to work with me. I'm not charging her, I'm just happy to get the experience working with a model. The only experience I have with someone modeling for me is in my B+W photography class this past semester for my portraiture assignment.

I have a D200, the 18-70 kit lens, a 50mm 1.8, and a 70-210, a tripod, and a really bright homemade bulb... I don't have a flash yet should get on that soon I suppose.

We plan on going to a park with a lot of gardens for some of the shots, I live by Niagara Falls, so also talked about doing some there. But I've been looking at some of the professionals modeling portfolios, and whoa, I'm impressed!

She also would like some "studio" type shots, but I'm not sure how I'd do that with my equipment. I'm going to try and setup a little homeade studio with white sheets or something?? I really think I'd need flash for that.

We are planning on doing it late in the day when the light is good. I was thinking it would be good to have some kind of reflector for the outdoor shots. Anyway advice on making a reflector as there's no photography stores nearby? Would about a softening filter?

Please, any advice is appreciated. I'm a little nervous, but I'm sure if we work together we will get good results.

THANK YOU!

mkrishnan

Moderator emeritus
Jan 9, 2004
Grand Rapids, MI, USA