Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

dingdongbubble

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Jun 1, 2007
Hi

Well I got myself the Pentax K100D and love it but my family might want somehting smaller and easier to use, in short a dreaded P/S. So I came across the latest dpreview.com review on the Fujifilm f50fd. It says that its successor was considered the best in ISO performance and I checked the conclu and it said that it is highly recommended. I ahve hardly come across P/S highly recommended cams.

So I was wondering if you know any other P/S cams which got rated as highly recommended by dpreview and are like the f31fd?

More importantly which one would you recommend buying the f50fd or f31fd?

johny5

macrumors 6502a
Mar 31, 2007
UK
I am no pro but do like a good camera. I owned a canon digital ixus before retiring it with a Fuji F31FD after it came out the all winner in a group test on the "gadget show" uk.
I think it is an absolutely great camera with good light levels and a good range of manual controls along. I keep looking at digital SLR's to jump into the pro type of camera but the everyday shooting that i do is fully justified and complimented by this little beauty! :)
I have a 1 year old daughter and take loads of perfect macro shots every day.

Last night as the sun was setting there were some funky cloud/sun effects that I had to capture, with everything on auto look at the pic i took.

Attachments

• red sky.jpg
    red sky.jpg
    195.3 KB · Views: 188

johny5

macrumors 6502a
Mar 31, 2007
UK
lol, I just read up about the F50 and to be honest its a no brainer to go for that camera :) with it superseding the F31d and that being a superb camera I dont think you can go wrong. 12 megapixels in a compact camera and advanced face detection 2 makes me want to buy the F50 now!
Theyre very cheap also at £149 from pixmania.co.uk

Abstract

macrumors Penryn
Dec 27, 2002