Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Makosuke

macrumors 604
Original poster
Aug 15, 2001
The Cool Part of CA, USA
I'm pretty sure I already know the answer to this problem, and Google didn't help, but hey, never hurts to ask.

Long story short, is there some method I'm missing for (cleanly) opening the DNG v5.4 files necessary to get the most from a Panasonic G1 in Photoshop CS3? Or am I stuck using the clumsy included app for that, and waiting for Apple to add support to iPhoto so I can hand that work off to it?

Short story long:

I just got a Panasonic G1. My previous photo workflow (not work as in I'm a pro, work as in how I deal with my best photos) with an FZ8 was to use Adobe's converter to convert from that camera's RAW files into DNGs, which I would then catalog in iPhoto. When I wanted to do something with one, iPhoto handed it off to Photoshop CS3. This worked great.

Well, the G1 added a feature to its RAW files where a correction factor for the lens is included. Adobe, thankfully, recently updated their DNG converter to handle this properly with the new DNG v5.4 files.

Except, of course, there is no importer for those in CS3. They want you to buy CS4. Bastards. You can convert to the older DNG format, but doing so quadruples the file size and loses some of the flexibility on top of that.

Now, even if I had several hundred dollars laying around for CS4, which I don't, I haven't seen a thing added over CS3 that I'd actually use and a whole lot of changes I don't like. And even if I *did* want it, the past two months of fighting Adobe's installer monstrosities at work has filled me with a burning rage that I don't think I'd give them money even if you threatened to kick me in the tender bits. That there's no backward compatibility for DNG 5.4 in CS3 just makes my rage burn hotter.