Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

daesup45

macrumors member
Original poster
Sep 1, 2008
im new to the camera world, the only camera i use was the one on my phone which is stupid. i have been looking around and g10 and lx-3 is the 2 i narrowed it down to. i dont want a dslr just because im not that into pictures, but i do want to start it up as a hobby. the camera will be used for vacation and sport events, but hopefully i will fall into landscape and animals. i like the g10 because it seems to be more professional usage, but the lx3 is more simple i guess. but i would like to be serious in the photo world.

netdog

macrumors 603
Feb 6, 2006
London
If you need the longer reaching zoom (sporting events come to mind), it's the G10. In all other respects, I far prefer the LX3, but the G10 is a good camera.

daesup45

macrumors member
Original poster
Sep 1, 2008
when i say sport events its taking pictures from the sideline and i heard lx3 does not work wih mac

bertpalmer

macrumors 6502
Apr 12, 2007
From what I've read/heard the LX3 has the edge in low light.

But if you're after resolution then the G10 might be better.

Always a compromise!

toxic

macrumors 68000
Nov 9, 2008
G10 for what you want - the LX3 isn't your usual point-&-shoot, since its lens doesnt even get to the telephoto range. both are tailored for more serious photographers.

leighonigar

macrumors 6502a
May 5, 2007
Both are great. When you say 'sport' do you want close ups? No compact is really going to be ideal for sport photography. As has been said, the G10's zoom is a bit longer (but doesn't let as much light in, and is less wide). If I was buying one I'd get the LX3 for the wide angle, but it sounds like the G10 might be better for you. Are you certain that you don't want a longer zoom? Both canon and panasonic make compacts with longer zooms (e.g. the TZ5). The image quality tends to be a bit worse though.