Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

DMCS

macrumors newbie
Original poster
May 5, 2016
Atlanta, GA
I am fairly new to video editing but I know that of course the best type of PC's to get are the ones with the i7 processors and the highest amount of RAM, etc but since I am on a serious budgetary constraint since I bought a PC for video editing where Premiere totally crapped out even though the specs on that machine is suppose to be superior.

I am left with a dilemma where I need to get another machine just for video editing. MacSales offers a wide variety of older G4 from (2008 and up)

But what I really want advice on is what would the minimum of configuration that I could buy where I could run Premiere (today's version) and edit fairly decent and it could handle it.

The prices range from $300 - several thousands and of course I know the more expensive ones are to go but considering that I would rather be in the $300 side until I can get my editing skills to a point where it warrants a better machine.

Does someone has any feedback if a 2008 4 Core G4 is like a total waste of money where I could get something like mini that would be more powerfull today?

keysofanxiety

macrumors G3
Nov 23, 2011
A G4 or G5 (well any PPC Mac) won't run the latest Adobe software. Nobody develops for that platform anymore. Plus $300 for a G4 sounds extortionate to be honest.

Also I'm not sure the G4s were quad core. They were dual processor as far as I know, but each processor didn't have 2 cores. I believe the only quad core PPC machines were the G5s.

Regardless, you'd get way more for your money even with a 2012 Mac Mini. Even the DDR3 and SATA 6Gb/s interface alone will make a massive difference. You can get the i7 quads for a fair price. Upgrade the RAM to 16GB, throw in an SSD, and you're laughing.

eRondeau

macrumors 65816
Mar 3, 2004
Canada's South Coast