Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

naiveandproud

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Feb 17, 2010
Hello all! Newbie here - and proud of it. :D

Quick help question to ask:
I'm going to be leaving in a month and a half on a 7 month long job that will take me all around Europe. I'm looking for the best way to geotag my pictures to load into Aperture's new Places feature? Now, I'm not a professional photographer by any means. I have a Canon PowerShot SD780 IS.

Now I know there's the eye-fi SD card or some other options that are like portable GPS time-log trackers and things like that. I'm hesitant to go with the eye-fi because i'll be in some pretty remote places of europe - very far from any wifi signal - and i'm not sure how accurate it will be.

thoughts? suggestions? should i just do it all by hand after the fact?

let me know.

thanks!

Designer Dale

macrumors 68040
Mar 25, 2009
Folding space
This is something I need to come up with and I'm only going into Idaho and Montana. One of the easiest ways to track your photos is with one of the tracking devices you will find at the links below. You snap it to your bag and squeeze a button every time you take a picture. When you get back you load it into your computer along with your photos and the GPS coordinates are tagged to the photos. I must be honest and say that I have no idea how this happens. Sounds like magic to me.

http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/559314-REG/Holux_M241_M_241_GPS_Datalogger_with.html

http://www.amazon.com/GiSTEQ-PhotoT...2?ie=UTF8&s=electronics&qid=1266470969&sr=1-2

I have also heard of taking snaps with a GPS enabled camera phone. You need to enter the data manually, but you have a visual record of where the shot was. I don't need to the inch locations, but I feel like an idiot coming out of the mountains with great photos of Mt. Whatever. I need to get organized.

Dale

steve-p

macrumors 68000
Oct 14, 2008