Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

crazycat

macrumors 65816
Original poster
Dec 5, 2005
I have been using point and shoot cameras for some time now and i need an SLR for that times when i want to do something a bit more. I have little knowledge with SLR's and i would like some help in buying my next model which i hope will be tomorrow from amazon.com. I need a camera that will allow me to take nice pics as well as have the option to change the lense for when i am in a safari or driving in the country.

Price point is not that important, I don't want to get a professional setup just something a a guy who is used to point-and-shoot can get his head around.

Thanks.

karebihun

macrumors newbie
Jan 25, 2007
Berkeley
I'd say pick up one of the "lower" end Nikons - the D50 over the D40 because the D40 lacks a motor that forces you to use only the newer lenses - some of the older lenses wont work with it. I have a D80 and I love it - go with Nikon, its a BIT more expensive, but you wont regret it.

ChrisA

macrumors G5
Jan 5, 2006
Redondo Beach, California
.....I have little knowledge with SLR's and i would like some help in buying my next model which i hope will be tomorrow from amazon.com.

I'd do a bit more research and reading "tomorrow" is quite unrealistic if you want to make an informed decision.