Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

hdsalinas

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Aug 28, 2006
San Pedro Sula, Honduras
Hi, I am a freelance graphic designer and I need to get a new camera.

I have an Olympus C3000 (3.3MP) that served me well for about 6 years but recently gave up the ghost. I am now looking for a replacement.

I am not a photographer but I usually find myself taking pictures of products for my clients to use in the material that I design for them. Since my old olympus died, I have been using my dad's point and shoot Panasonic Lumix that has been alright but i get a lot of distortion and noise when taking close ups of products (perfume bottles for example).

I have been wanting to get a DSRL but I am not sure if it would be overkill for my needs (and out of my budget). I dont see myself purchasing aftermarket lenses or kits. My dad has a few lenses for an old canon AE-1 film camera that he had but I am not sure if they would fit. I just dont want to spend more than what I need.

My budget is around $300 to $400 (maybe $500 but I dont want to spend mpre than 400). What are the advantages of camera that support RAW file formats? Any f=good websites that would give me good info on cameras?

I have been looking at a Sony DSC-H9/B or a Canon POWERSHOT-G7. I now that these are not DSLR but they seem to fit my budget, any experience with these models?

carlgo

macrumors 68000
Dec 29, 2006
Monterey CA
Sound like you take pics of flat items like graphics that are on a wall? If so, a point and shoot of 6mp or more should work fine. You are not dealing with really tricky lighting, perspective, multiple shots, moving stuff, etc. Just get the lighting figured out. My wife's little Nikon S3 even has a mode for shooting flat objects.