Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Daveway

macrumors 68040
Original poster
Jul 10, 2004
New Orleans / Lafayette, La
Hello fellow camera aficionados. :)

The activity in this thread got the idea in me that I really want to start shooting good pictures. The problem is I don't know what camera I should start with. I searched the forum, but couldn't find anything.
Currently I'm fooling around with my dad's Ricoh XR7 that's like 25 years old but really good. Now I want to go digital.

Should I maybe start off with a used camera from eBay instead of going straight into a brand new camera? I've been looking at the Canon Rebel and Nikon D40 cameras. Since I'm just getting into this area I don't want to spend a ton of money on it.
Is it possible to pull off something like this for under $400?

Thanks.

silbeej

macrumors 6502a
Feb 3, 2007
For me it was the D50, but now it is the D40. I've been a huge fan of Nikon, and started out with a Yashica FX2, with no light meter or anything, so i was basing my settings off what i saw with my own eye. Then i went up to an FX3, which had a light meter and that was it. Then i got my first digital, at the time the cheap one was the D50, and it was about 1k with the kit. Find a used D40, and you will love it. I'm not a fan of the canons, and find them slow and their cases are a little too cheap, but thats just me. Good luck.

Kebabselector

macrumors 68030
May 25, 2007
Birmingham, UK
I'm not a fan of the canons, and find them slow

Slow?

Anyway, best go to a store and try one for yourself. All of the entry level DSLRs are decent. Just find one you prefer. As with all forums people will promote their own brand, usually with reason not to like another.

silbeej

macrumors 6502a
Feb 3, 2007