Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Sarah_Baker

macrumors member
Original poster
Dec 4, 2023
I have a problem guys. I have been using Google Chrome for the past couple of years. Recently though, it started to drain my battery so fast to the point my MBP M1 was just unusable without plugged in. It would even heat up which I have never experienced.

Well since a week I have been using Safari. It has no issues whatsoever with battery or memory. It does however have the problem of not having any good extensions that I need for my day to day use ( I am a front-end dev ). The other thing is the interface for developer tab is just not what I am used to.

So I'm asking you guys, is there some sort of a middle ground. Is there like a browser or solution that will get the best of both worlds? I read somewhere here about some guy switching to Orion, but I have not gone to test it out.

Reactions: Lyrics23

JustAnExpat

macrumors 65816
Nov 27, 2019
I would try reinstalling Chrome if possible. Chrome shouldn't be heating up an M1 MBP. Delete Chrome, delete (or rename) the preference folder, delete the preference file, and redownload it.

Reactions: AlastorKatriona

Jay Tee

macrumors 6502
Mar 17, 2023
I'm not happy with ad blocking extensions for Safari. What are you using ?

Sarah_Baker

macrumors member
Original poster
Dec 4, 2023
I would try reinstalling Chrome if possible. Chrome shouldn't be heating up an M1 MBP. Delete Chrome, delete (or rename) the preference folder, delete the preference file, and redownload it.
I tried that, cleaning just about any bit left from chrome and reinstalling it again. Nothing. That's why I switched to Safari.

mmkerc

macrumors 6502
Jun 21, 2014
Have you had any experience with any of them?