Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

bogdanw

macrumors 603
Mar 10, 2009
6,116
3,026
It's working for me, try right-click and open
GEP.jpg

Download link https://dl.google.com/earth/client/advanced/current/GoogleEarthProMac-Intel.dmg
 

Wadiking

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Apr 18, 2020
9
1
thanks for response. Tried it and still the same, get the this point, see attached screenshot, and it just stops responding. Have to use force quit to get out.
 

Attachments

  • Screenshot 2020-04-18 at 10.12.59.png
    Screenshot 2020-04-18 at 10.12.59.png
    71.7 KB · Views: 361

Wadiking

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Apr 18, 2020
9
1
Tried all of the above but still cannot get it to open. Guess will have to wait for either Apple or Google to fix this
 

bogdanw

macrumors 603
Mar 10, 2009
6,116
3,026
Here is an AppleScript that installs Google Earth Pro without the invasive auto-update feature:
Code:
set theDMG to choose file with prompt "Please select GoogleEarthProMac-Intel.dmg file:" of type {"dmg"}
do shell script "hdiutil mount " & quoted form of POSIX path of theDMG
do shell script "pkgutil --expand /Volumes/Google\\ Earth\\ Pro\\ 7.3.2.5776/Install\\ Google\\ Earth\\ Pro\\ 7.3.2.5776.pkg ~/tmp"
do shell script "hdiutil unmount /Volumes/Google\\ Earth\\ Pro\\ 7.3.2.5776"
do shell script "cd ~/tmp/Google_Earth_Pro.pkg; cat Payload | gunzip -dc |cpio -i; ditto ~/tmp/Google_Earth_Pro.pkg/Google\\ Earth\\ Pro.app /Applications/Google\\ Earth\\ Pro.app;"
do shell script "defaults write ~/Library/Preferences/com.google.GoogleEarthPro.plist enableTips -bool NO"
do shell script "rm -rf ~/tmp"
do shell script "open -a /Applications/Google\\ Earth\\ Pro.app/Contents/MacOS/Google\\ Earth"
The script will ask you to select the GoogleEarthProMac-Intel.dmg, it will extract Google Earth Pro from the package and move it to Applications, it will delete the temporary files, disable tips at start-up for Google Earth Pro and open the Google Earth Pro application.
To delete Google Earth Pro and Google's auto-update package you can use this script:
Code:
do shell script "rm -rf /Applications/Google\\ Earth\\ Pro.app" with administrator privileges
do shell script "rm -f ~/com.google.GoogleEarthPro.plist"
do shell script "rm -rf ~/Library/Caches/com.Google.GoogleEarthPro"
do shell script "launchctl unload -wF /Library/LaunchDaemons/com.google.keystone.daemon.plist" with administrator privileges
do shell script "rm -f /Library/LaunchDaemons/com.google.keystone.daemon.plist" with administrator privileges
do shell script "launchctl unload -wF /Library/LaunchAgents/com.google.keystone.agent.plist" with administrator privileges
do shell script "rm -f /Library/LaunchAgents/com.google.keystone.agent.plist" with administrator privileges
do shell script "launchctl unload -wF /Library/LaunchAgents/com.google.keystone.xpcservice.plist" with administrator privileges
do shell script "rm -f /Library/LaunchAgents/com.google.keystone.xpcservice.plist" with administrator privileges
do shell script "rm -rf ~/Library/Google/GoogleSoftwareUpdate"
 
  • Like
Reactions: filmak

Wadiking

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Apr 18, 2020
9
1
Tried all the above, and more, but still nada. Cannot get this damn programme to run, as soon as it opens the second window it becomes unresponsive
 

Wadiking

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Apr 18, 2020
9
1
Finally sorted the problem. Deleted the following from the cache
cloudkitmetadata
cloudkitmetadata-shm
cloudkitmetadata-wal


and deleted

cloudd

Now Earth is running fine and computer itself is quicker


Thanks for all help
 
  • Like
Reactions: cobra521

Wadiking

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Apr 18, 2020
9
1
Update.... worked fine for a few days and now back to square 1. Exasperating is an understatement !
 

Wadiking

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Apr 18, 2020
9
1
Just use Earth in Chrome, that's what it's optimised for. The crappy old legacy app is due to die at some point.
Earth in Chrome is not a patch on Google Earth. One can't be used and the other is lacking in usability
 

Wadiking

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Apr 18, 2020
9
1
Been playing around with script from bogdanw and getting the script to run now but getting this error

"Could not open package for expansion: /Volumes/Google Earth Pro 7.3.2.7692/Install Google Earth Pro 7.3.2.7692.pkg" number 1
 

bogdanw

macrumors 603
Mar 10, 2009
6,116
3,026
Been playing around with script from bogdanw and getting the script to run now but getting this error

"Could not open package for expansion: /Volumes/Google Earth Pro 7.3.2.7692/Install Google Earth Pro 7.3.2.7692.pkg" number 1
If you downloaded GoogleEarthProMac-Intel.dmg again, the latest version is 7.3.3.7699. So, replace 7.3.2.7692 with 7.3.3.7699 in the script.
 

flowrider

macrumors 604
Nov 23, 2012
7,321
3,003
It's 7.3.3.7692❓ That's the version I have. Guess I'll download 7.3.3.7699?

Edit - Just updated to 7699 - works fine as usual :eek:

Lou
 

bogdanw

macrumors 603
Mar 10, 2009
6,116
3,026
Here is a new version of the script, should work with any version of GoogleEarthProMac-Intel.dmg. If you already have the Google Earth Pro.app in your Applications folder, delete it before running the script.
AppleScript:
set theDMG to choose file with prompt "Please select GoogleEarthProMac-Intel.dmg file:" of type {"dmg"}
do shell script "hdiutil mount " & quoted form of POSIX path of theDMG
do shell script "pkgutil --expand /Volumes/Google\\ Earth\\ Pro\\ */Install\\ Google\\ Earth\\ Pro\\ *.pkg ~/tmp"
do shell script "hdiutil unmount /Volumes/Google\\ Earth\\ Pro\\ *"
do shell script "cd ~/tmp/Google_Earth_Pro.pkg; cat Payload | gunzip -dc |cpio -i; ditto ~/tmp/Google_Earth_Pro.pkg/Google\\ Earth\\ Pro.app /Applications/Google\\ Earth\\ Pro.app;"
do shell script "defaults write ~/Library/Preferences/com.google.GoogleEarthPro.plist enableTips -bool NO"
do shell script "rm -rf ~/tmp"
do shell script "open -a /Applications/Google\\ Earth\\ Pro.app/Contents/MacOS/Google\\ Earth"
 

Wadiking

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Apr 18, 2020
9
1
Ok will give it a go, thanks
[automerge]1589033087[/automerge]
Hi bogdanw. Tried the new script but still no joy. However I decided on a whim to create a new administrator account and it opened google earth and ran immediately from applications folder, perfectly. No idea why, both accounts are identical. Now got to figure out how to move all the stuff from original account to the other without losing anything then can delete the troublesome one

Thanks or assist
 

palace.green

macrumors newbie
Jun 29, 2021
1
0
Ok will give it a go, thanks
[automerge]1589033087[/automerge]
Hi bogdanw. Tried the new script but still no joy. However I decided on a whim to create a new administrator account and it opened google earth and ran immediately from applications folder, perfectly. No idea why, both accounts are identical. Now got to figure out how to move all the stuff from original account to the other without losing anything then can delete the troublesome one

Thanks or assist
try changing to auto proxy
 
Register on MacRumors! This sidebar will go away, and you'll see fewer ads.