Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

maflynn

macrumors Haswell
Original poster
May 3, 2009
Hey guys, I recently purchased an apple 24" ACD and I've been kicking around the idea that I'll be well suited to purchasing a calibration device to set that and my MBP?

Thoughts and/or opinions on this. I'm an amateur photographer and in the past I've really made a huge issue of calibrating my monitors. The difference now is that I see a clear difference between the two montiors (mbp + ACD).

I've narrowed my selection to the spyder 3 pro (or elite) and the i1 display 2. Any thoughts or opinions on these two, or perhaps recommending a different model (or not even recommending any model).

As an addendum, I don't do too much print work, I have a good printer and I'll print some images, but most of my stuff is online. I'm not sure if this factor makes any difference.

ComputersaysNo

macrumors 6502
Apr 15, 2010
Amsterdam
I have the spider pro. The difference with the Elite (i have been told, don't know for sure) is only software i thought.

Maybe you already know this, but just as extra info:

- Don't mess things up by using your monitor-profile in Photoshop or so, ONLY on your graphicscard-settings, AND NOWHERE ELSE. (a lot of people go wrong on this)

- PROOF when printing only uses the colorprofile that comes with paper. (yellow paper will show weird whites as the computer thinks you are using white paper. You don't have white ink in there do you? ;) )

- Use the same colorworkspace in your photo-edditingprogram as the settings of your camera (or any other input).

- for the best colorquality (gamut), use Argb in camera, and Argb as your colorworkspace in photoshop (or any other editprogram). DON'T forget to convert to Srgb IEC 611966.2.1 when saving for web.