Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

mfacey

macrumors 65816
Original poster
Feb 1, 2004
Netherlands
Hi all,

I went out experimenting with my camera today. Made some nice photos, but I was particularly pleased with this one of the bridge.

Sadly, it was somewhat hazy outside today, so especially the building in the background is a little blurry. Anybody have any suggestions how to clean up the haziness? I use Lightroom to touch stuff up normally, but I also have PS CS2 if necessary.

For a full-size view of the photo go here: http://www.michaelfacey.com/mr/IMG_0406.JPG

Oh, and btw, I'm just getting into this photography thing, so comments and pointers are welcome!

Thanks!

Attachments

• mrpreview.jpg
    mrpreview.jpg
    228.8 KB · Views: 117

Father Jack

macrumors 68020
Jan 1, 2007
Ireland
It looks like haze is the problem, a polarizing filter on the camera should help.

You could try increasing the contrast in photoshop and perhaps sharpening the image a tad.

FJ

Lovesong

macrumors 65816
If the problem is lack of depth of field, next time use a smaller f stop (higher number) Eg if you used f8 for the shot, next time use f11 or f16 etc.

If haze is the problem, a polarizing filter on the camera should help.

You could try increasing the contrast in photoshop and perhaps sharpening the image a tad.

FJ

I would have to agree with FJ. It seems you should have used a smaller aperture. Another thing you might want to watch for is what your ISO is. There seems to be some noise (especially in the shadow of the bridge).

mfacey

macrumors 65816
Original poster
Feb 1, 2004
Netherlands
It looks like haze is the problem, a polarizing filter on the camera should help.

FJ