Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

13‑inch MacBook Pro 2.8ghz i7 or 15‑inch MacBook Pro 2.6ghz i7

• 13‑inch MacBook Pro 2.8ghz i7

Votes: 3 18.8%
  • 15‑inch MacBook Pro 2.6ghz i7

Votes: 13 81.3%

• Total voters

bionic_arm

macrumors member
Original poster
Jul 18, 2019
Hi All,

First post on here.

I recently decided to get a macbook pro.

Currently have a windows desktop which was built for gaming however i cant remember the last time i played a game on it so i decided a laptop would be a better option. I though about getting a high end windows laptop but most of the devices i have at home are already in the apple ecossytem (applet tv , homepods, ipads, homekit etc) so i settled on a macbook pro.

I am new to macs and i am having a tough time deciding between these two models

• 2.8GHz quad-core 8th‑generation Intel Core i7 processor, Turbo Boost up to 4.7GHz
  • Intel Iris Plus Graphics 655
  • 16GB 2133MHz LPDDR3 memory
  • 512GB SSD storage
Cost £2499

or

• 2.6GHz 6-core 9th-generation Intel Core i7 processor, Turbo Boost up to 4.5GHz
  • Radeon Pro 555X with 4GB of GDDR5 memory
  • 16GB 2400MHz DDR4 memory
  • 512GB SSD storage
Cost £2579

I will mainly be using the laptop for web browisng, excel spreadhseets, mobile development and potentially a few games (i may get an egpu down the line but would like to future proof if i ever decided to this). Also there may end up being a point for work where i need to use this laptop daily so i would be carrying it every day. For work i would just need to be able to use ms office applications (multiple at the same time).

I am unsure of what is the better option of the two. I would prefer a smaller screen for portability but i feel i will be missing out on dedicated graphics card. However the 15" version costs more for a slower process cor. The next processor up is an extra 310 and i cant justify that. My budget is 2500 hence the conundrum.